AlH3 ReaxFF Simulation Error 'Non-numeric atom coords - simulation unstable'

Dear LAMMPS Users,

I am studying the pyrolysis of AlH3 (Aluminium Hydride) using ReaxFF (pair_style reax/c) and have some problems.

I built up an AlH3 crystal cell (5 × 5 × 2 supercell) and placed it in the centre of a 200 × 200 × 200 angstrom simulation box. I equilibrated the system for 50 ps and then run the simulations at temperatures of 1500 K, 2000 K, and 2500 K, respectively. However, for all the chosen temperatures, the simulation stopped after about 10 - 20 hours (timestep 0.1 fs; several millions of steps’ run) and reported the error ‘Non-numeric atom coords - simulation unstable’ after some nan values.

I know that this error usually results from bad dynamics of the system or close contacts between atoms. But my simulations only encountered this error after a certain runtime rather than at the beginning (which means there is no problem with my initial configuration). I also tried a smaller timestep 0.05 fs but the results were the same. The ReaxFF force field file I used is extracted from ‘J. Phys. Chem. C, 2016, 120 (17), pp 9464–9474’. I checked this force field file and it should be suitable for my system. The LAMMPS version I used is 11Aug17.

I would appreciate it very much if anyone could help me with it or provide any suggestion. Many thanks in advance.

Kind Regards,

Lance

If the error is repoducible, I suggest you output thermo info
every step in the time window when the crash occurs.
E.g. if the crash occurs around step 1200650:
run 1200600
run 100
You an also write out a restart file shortly before
the crash and see if you can restart from
that and still see the crash. That helps you
(or us if its a LAMMPS problem) to debug.

Steve

Dear Steve,

Thank you very much for your reply and suggestion.