Coarse-Grained Question involving Lennard Jones Parameters

Hello LAMMPS users,

I am a LAMMPS beginner modeling nanoparticles of carbon black, silver, and silver-lithium alloy. I am trying to use a coarse-grained model in order to scale up and increase the speed of my previous all-atom model. The particles’ sizes are around the 50 nm scale. I have the following questions:

1. In theory, can the LJ radius be adjusted to a large enough length scale (for example, 25 nm) to perform the coarse-graining? If so, how would the binding energy scale with particle size? (I have found Lennard-Jones parameters for a coarse-grained model of carbon black and am now considering the relative size of carbon to silver nanoparticles).
  2. What tools make the most sense to create a coarse-grained model for an alloy of lithium and silver? (PyCGTOOL, VMD CGBuilder?). If anyone knows any good resources about coarse-graining I would greatly appreciate any suggestions.

When increasing the sigma parameter of a Lennard-Jones potential, e.g. to make a single particle represent multiple particles (that can be represented with a Lennard-Jones potential), then you have to keep in mind that this process will also make the resulting coarse-grain particle “softer”. Thus this kind of coarse-graining is usually only used for representing particles at a 1:3 or 1:4 ratio not more. For larger ratios, you usually want to use a custom functional form that will be more representative, i.e. make a single particle have interactions more similar to a cluster of individual atoms, e.g. represented via fix rigid in LAMMPS. This could be something like colloid-colloid interaction in pair_style colloid command — LAMMPS documentation or a custom table for pair_style table command — LAMMPS documentation