Contribution of improper angles to Born matrix

Hello all

I am studying the code for “compute born/matrix” and focusing on the improper contribution. It seems to me that there is no method to calculate this contribution when a command like
“compute ID group-ID born/matrix improper”
is specified in the input script file, since there is no “compute_impropers()” to be called (or another action taking place) when the impflag is set to True.
I would greatly appreciate if someone could comment/guide me on that.

Thanks
Evangelos

Hi @evoyiatzis,

as the writer of the compute I think I can help you with that.

I think you know the litterature regarding the derivation of \frac{\partial{}^2U}{\partial{}\varepsilon_{i}\varepsilon_{j}} for angles and dihedral angles potentials, papers such as Van Workums’ and yours were the one I used to write the compute command.

However, in the case of impropers, two issues appeared:

1. I didn’t find derivations specifically done for improper angles. Assuming that they were the same as for dihedral is a bit of a leap of faith. I tried to make the derivation myself on paper but didn’t find enough time to finish and unfortunately went on to work with more urgent matter.
  2. I am unsure that the atom ordering is consistent between LAMMPS improper styles. See the documentation for harmonic improper, distance improper, fourier improper or class2 improper. Sometimes J seems to be the atom out of plane, sometimes it is I… I think this issue was also discussed a lot in the mailing list, @akohlmey or @jewettaij might have things to say on that but as far as I understand, this is due to several people making independent dihedral styles implementations each recomputing the atoms order in its own way.