Copper - Borazines potential

Good morning,

I am new to LAMMPS (and in general MD) and I would like to simulate the clustering of some borazine molecules on Copper (111). Following the suggestions on the forum, I have searched for some papers doing the same thing finding just: https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/abs/10.1002/anie.201300948
In the paper, the potential used is said to be: F. Iori et al, GolP: An atomistic force-field to describe the interaction of proteins with Au(111) surfaces in water, J. Comput. Chem. 30, 1465 (2009). However, it seems to me that in this paper the only interaction parametrized are only N and S, in contrast with C/B/N interactions that I should have.

Am I missing something on the potential construction on LAMMPS? Does someone have some other experience with this kind of system and have some suggestion for me? Thanks!

Laura Caputo

Laura,

if you are new to MD, then you should not start with such a project. This requires an experienced MD simulation practitioner. Such a person would have seen that the MD simulations described in the publication you cite are using not very high accuracy models. 1) rather than using specific parameterizations for borazine compounds, they use the UFF generic force field (you can do it, but its accuracy is limited) and 2) they use a rather simplified model to represent the “metallic” character of the surface, which is called the “image charge model”. For this model you just represent the (nearly ideal) polarizability of the metal surface by adding “mirror charges” after defining a material specific “mirror plane” position. In the given example the authors argue that the adsorption energy of copper is similar to that of gold and thus they use the same parameters. Also they don’t let that metal surface atoms relax/reconstruct.

This is clearly not a model with the level of detail you are expecting.