Discrepancies between "legacy" and "current" data. What should I believe?

Hi,

TL/DR
The optimized crystal structures from the legacy materials project website don’t always agree with the current website. For instance, compare:
mp-554573: SiO2 (Orthorhombic, Ama2, 40) vs. mp-554573: SiO2 (orthorhombic, Ama2, 40)
One cannot simply compare the cell parameters as the crystallographic settings are different, but it’s obvious that the optimized structural parameters are different when one compares the densities. That said, the reported calculated stiffness tensors are the same. What’s up with that? What data should I rely on? I see this happening for quite a few calculations that I’m interested in.

Longer explanation…
I’m currently a civil engineer in the SF Bay Area. I was the first user of VASP in the US back over 25 years ago. Around 20 years ago, I used VASP to parameterize a set of transferable interatomic potentials for mixed metal oxide crystals and glasses. Although never published (except as “personal communication”), these potentials have been used in hundreds of studies. Twenty years later, I’m trying to finish this up by parametrizing new interatomic potentials based upon my own DFT linear response calculations using ABINIT/PBE/ONCV and data from the Materials Project. I’m hoping to exploit as much data as possible from the Materials Project but am having lower and lower confidence about what I see. Any help/suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks,
David

Hi David,

I can’t offer an official response any more, since it’s been a long time since I worked on the MP stack directly, but the calculation provenance for each materials page is provided for both the legacy and the current site.

Based on this - it looks like the lattice parameters for the materials details page are taken from the r2scan structure optimization, presumably because r2scan is a more accurate functional.