Electrolyte for Li-ion batteries

Dear everyone,

I would like to get the electron affinity (EA) and ionization energy (IE) for electrolyte materials of Li-ion batteries. I write this code to get the EA of La-Ti-O based materials but the results are not what I expect (no EA):

from pymatgen import MPRester

if name == “main”:
MAPI_KEY = “mykey”
QUERY = “La-Ti-O” # electron affinities

mpr = MPRester(MAPI_KEY)  

data = mpr.get_data(QUERY)
for EA in data:
    print(EA)

I am the beginner and I am not good at coding. Anyone could help, please.
Thank you in advance.

Hi ThuyTran,

Electron affinities for solids require a more computationally intensive calculation than the calculations we currently host on the materials project (the simulation required is the same as that required for the work function). Unfortunately, our currently automation infrastructure doesn’t support the calculation of these properties, so they’re not available in the database. We are hoping to calculate and add them eventually.

You might be interested in our infrastructure for calculating the electron affinities for molecules, which has a short tutorial on the mapidoc repo.

1 Like

Thank Joseph Montoya! I will read the link. By the way, how to know if the electron affinities and ionization energies for solids are added. Could I get notification?

When follow the link, I get this problem:

"Ensure you have an API key and that you have selected the “jcesr” sandbox on your
# dashboard (https://materialsproject.org/dashboard). If you do not see the "jcesr"
# option and believe you should have access to EG data, please contact us."

I have API key but I can’t see “jcesr” in the sandbox. Please help me. Thanks.

Sorry, that should be updated. Electrolyte genome data (electrolyte molecules and multivalent cathode materials) were released to all users a while ago. You have full access to the data as a “core” sandbox user.

1 Like