EOS prediction of materials through shock compression

Dear shock-simulation community,

I am quite new in atomistic level (MD) shock compression simulation, but I have experience in LAMMPS and as well as MD. However I have set the methodology successfully in LAMMPS. I have read through all the previous discussions regarding shock wave simulation by Ray Shan, Oscar G and Steve along wit the literature.

What I am doing:

I am setting the so called “momentum mirror method” by utilizing “wall/reflect” velocity “set” with keyword “sum” “yes” and doing NVE to study metallic and polymer system. Basically i’m setting a velocity of each atoms towards the mirror. I think my methodology is correct as I am seeing that the shock wave propagates through the bulk, by computing cna/atom and doing centrosymetry analysis we confirmed.

I am computing the density and velocity (after ) per region basis (I have defined several special regions by group and region command) by using “reduce/region” ,“ave/spatial” etc.

What my confusions are ?

1. As I intend to calculate the shock velocity(Us), I am plugging the two densities (before and after shock passed) and particle velocity in the Rankin Hugoniot jump condition ( momentum conservation eqn.). But here which particle velocity (Up) value I should plug the velocity I am setting by velocity “set” or the velocity of the particles i have computed after subtracting off the COM bias ?
    Is it a correct way to compute shock velocity(Us) or any other method I should use, please share your experience.
    (i have gone through “Budzien, Thompson and Zybin, JPC B 113, 13142 2009” suggested by Ray in some previous discussion regarding shock)