Equilibration Procedure

Dear All,

I am a PhD student and I am relatively new to MD and LAMMPS. I am trying to simulate the following equilibration:

“All MD simulations of graphene and diamond used the same equilibration procedure. Each system was first heated from 0 to 300 K over 5 ps using a Langevin thermostat. A Berendsen thermostat and barostat were then used to maintain the system at 300 K and zero pressure for 16 ps. The barostat was then removed and the system maintained at 300 K for 2 ps. A time step of 0.2 fs was used in all simulations.”

I have used this script:

------------------------ INITIALIZATION ----------------------------

units metal
dimension 3
boundary p p p
atom_style atomic
newton on

----------------------- ATOM DEFINITION ----------------------------

read_data data.graphene

mass 1 12 # carbon

------------------------ FORCE FIELDS ------------------------------

pair_style airebo 3.0
pair_coeff * * CH.airebo C

------------------------- SETTINGS ---------------------------------

Unless you used a command-line option to not output
a log file, you should get everything (and more) that
prints to the screen in log.lammps.

Try it with one of the provided scripts if yours
is not working.

Steve

Dear All,

I am a PhD student and I am relatively new to MD and LAMMPS. I am trying to simulate the following equilibration:

“All MD simulations of graphene and diamond used the same equilibration procedure. Each system was first heated from 0 to 300 K over 5 ps using a Langevin thermostat. A Berendsen thermostat and barostat were then used to maintain the system at 300 K and zero pressure for 16 ps. The barostat was then removed and the system maintained at 300 K for 2 ps. A time step of 0.2 fs was used in all simulations.”