facing issues while using force and move commands in lammps

Hi,

I am a PhD student at UC Merced and I have started learning LAMMPS for doing some MD simulations. I want to calculate the coefficient of friction for MoS2.(4-layers were taken for the simulation)

Description of my model:

Datafile creation:

LAMMPS data file created from VNL: Compatible with atom-style atomic

total number of atoms: 600

Box size: 15.802 X 27.3699 X 40.0

During optimization and MD calculation, x- and y- directions are taken as periodic and z- direction as non- periodic.

MD parameters and fixes used:

Units: real

Time step: 0.1

Bottom layer is fixed using setforce 0.0 0.0 0.0

Fix nvt is applied only on the middle two layers and set to temp 300k

Force is applied only on the top layer in the downward direction using different fixes.

Top layer is sliding in the +x direction using move linear 0.0001 NULL NULL

Issues/Queries:

For the top layer, there is always vibration in z direction. Even after running for a longer time steps the vibration is same.

While my COM is reaching more than 15.0117 angstrom in the x direction its becoming negative.Although, when I am looking at the figure I can see that its continuously moving in the positive x direction. If COM needs to give unwrapped coordinate, why am I getting these negative values or what exactly I should use to get rid of the problem.

For applying pressure/ force in the negative z direction I have use different options,

1. Applies average force on all the atoms in the top layer without making the layer as rigid.

2. Made the layer as rigid and then applied addforce command.

3. Applied average force command to only the Mo atoms in the top layer