Fitting potential parameters to phonon frequencies

Dear Dr. Gale,

I’ve been looking recently into the fitting of oxides potential parameters (including a core-shell representation) using phonon frequencies as observables to try to reproduce complex dielectric spectra. With the help of the documentation and several topics on this very forum, I’ve managed to have the fitting process running, using either experimental or DFT data.
Now my question is related to a remark I read in one of your paper, about the derivation of potential parameters of aluminophosphates and berlinite (J. Chem. Soc., Faraday Trans., 1994, 90, 3175-3179), namely: “The phonon frequencies were excluded from the fitting procedure as this requires the correct assignment of all modes to their corresponding experimental frequencies at all stages of the optimisation of the potential parameters”. Upon reading that, and considering I’m quite new to GULP, I’m not sure how to what extent I can trust my procedure. Since some time have passed since this paper and its contemporary version of GULP, what’s your take on that point now?

Best regards,
Antoine

Dear Antoine,
The issue still remains. While you can fit the frequencies in GULP the problem comes if the modes are in the wrong order - you have no guarantee that the fit will be making the right mode have the right frequency. If you have a simple system where the modes are well separated & a good starting point that already has the modes in the correct order then it might work. What is really needed is to input the eigenvector and frequency so that the code can look for the maximum overlap of the input mode with the computed one. Unfortunately this isn’t implemented because the input would get more complex for the user and it would be essential to make sure the same eigenvector convention is being used (mass vs non-mass weighted etc).