Gay-Berne potential without attraction

Hi. I’m quite new to this Lammps community.

I’m looking for a pair-style potential to simulate hard core volume interaction between elliptical particles. and I think GB with correct cutoff will be the one. like in Phys. Rev. E 101, 022602 (2020) - From scalar to polar active matter: Connecting simulations with mean-field theory

and also, Hoomd-blue gives repulsive-only option

but to me it seems like current version of Lammps only provides isotropic cutoff length.

can you recommend other pair-style potential of teach me how to modify the cutoff length to be anisotropic?

Thank you

You can also try the resquared potential for ellipsoidal particles.

For the cutoff, you have to chose a distance that is at least bigger than the biggest axis of the ellipsoids in your system, otherwise there will be significant numerical instabilities when two particles approach from the direction of the longest axis. Given that the particles could be randomly oriented, I don’t see how an anisotropic cutoff radius would benefit your simulation (besides messing up with the creation of the neighbour list).

Thank you for your answer.

but as I know, RE-squared potential also have attracting tail, which I don’t want

also thank you for your comment on ‘cutoff radius’. I think it can be confusion from what I said.
to me, cutoff radius is the threshold for computing potential, and there should be some radius larger than this to make neighbor list

If you want a purely repulsive potential, then you could use the Buckingham pair_style buck with the attractive coefficient C set to zero.

I don’t think Buckingham potential can simulate elliptic object which is anisotropic

The general rule with LAMMPS is the following: all available functionality is documented.