Geometry optimization of a polymer

Dear all,

I am new to LAMMPS. I need to geometrically optimize a polymer. I read that I need a data file and an input file. Is there a clear example -that shows in details- what to include in these files and how to add the force fields? Any suggestion would be really appreciated.

thanks

Elie M

Dear Ellie

There are several molecule builders available on
http://lammps.sandia.gov/build.html

There is also a newly-announced molecule builder here:
https://sourceforge.net/projects/moleculardynami/

There is a tutorial for a very simple polymer here:
https://icme.hpc.msstate.edu/mediawiki/index.php/LAMMPS_Polymer

As for the force-field, it's not clear what kind of polymer you want
to simulate, and what type of simulation you are running. Some MD
programs like AMBER come with molecule-building scripts which will
"automagically" determine the force field parameters according to the
atom types. LAMMPS does not.

Perhaps Molecular Dynamics Studio (link above) can choose the
force-field parameters for you. (Hopefully Bruce will chime in.)

Currently you have to manually specify the parameters for every single
one of your bonded and non-bonded interactions in your model. (There
can be quite a few for an all-atom system.) Both moltemplate and
topotools will generate topology for you automatically, and both have
web page tutorials how to do this, but the force-field parameters have
to be specified by you.
(I could probably port some of AMBER's potentials over to moltemplate
format, but I can't guarantee that it would be correct. Somebody
would have to use it and tell me if I did it correctly, because I
don't use these force fields.)

Andrew

Dear Andrew,

thanks very much. I will try to fiddle with these myself and try my best and see how it goes.

Ellie

See the examples directories. There are several data files there,
e.g. in the peptide dir.

Steve

Your welcome!

The "peptide" example Steve mentioned is very useful for learning the