Kinetic energy oscillations with granular & fix deform

Dear all,

I’m studying simple shear flow of granular materials in a triperiodic cell by means of “fix deform” with lammps/11Aug17.
The grain particle sizes are uniformly distributed in the range 0.8-1.2. The cell is 20x20x20.
I’ve prepared different volume fractions as in Chialvo et al Phys. Rev. E 85, 021305 (2012).
Simulations run smoothly (on 10 cores) for solid fractions lower than 0.6. However, when phi=0.6 (~9080 particles) I’m not able to reach a steady state, because the center of mass velocity of the system displays large, low frequency, oscillations (see attached plot).

I tried different preparation methods for phi=0.6 ( lammps crystalline packings, random deposition, also “rainfall” with a contact dynamics code to reduce initial interpenetration), but oscillations are still present.

Does someone have an idea of what is happening? Here’s an excerpt of my simulation script :

atom_style sphere
boundary p p p
newton off
comm_modify mode single vel yes

region reg prism 0 20. 0 20. 0 20. 0 0 0 units box
create_box 1 reg

initial packing taken from external file generated externally

read_data file.dat add append

neighbor 0.2 bin
neigh_modify delay 0

pair_style gran/hooke/history 1000000 285714 159 NULL 0.5 1
pair_coeff * *
timestep 0.00002

fix 1 all nve/sphere
compute 1 all erotate/sphere
fix 2 all deform 1 yz erate 0.01 remap v
velocity all ramp vy -0.1 0.1 z 0 20
velocity all zero angular

run 1000000000

Thank you,

Regards

Riccardo

oscillations.png

You’re right that this is weird - but I’m not that weirded out that its happening so close to jamming. Since there is not full input deck…