[lammps-users] failed to read reaxff potential file via liblammps.a

Hi, lammps-users

I am a postdoc in sustech university, China. Recently, I have tried to use liblammps.a (lammps-14Dec2021) with LAMMPS C LIBRARY API via EON (LAMMPS Potential — EON: Long Timescale Dynamics (henkelmanlab.org)).

I have tried test lammps eam potential, and it is good to run well in EON.

Unluckly, when I tried REAXFF potential, some questions occurred.

1. I have tried about 5 reaxff potential file from previous papers, like: am0c17536_si_002.txt, langmuir2013.O3_Ti9.txt and jpca2013.O3_Ti9.txt.
  2. All these file can works very well with the example lammps scripts in lammps/example/reaxff.
  3. The file am0c17536_si_002.txt can not be read in EON via LAMMPS C LIBRARY API by function lammps_file(LAMMPSObj, “in.lammps”), where file in.lammps mainly included the pair_style command:

print “finished: initialize” file out.eonlammps

pair_style reaxff NULL #control.reax_c.rdx
print “defined: pair_style reaxff” append out.eonlammps
#pair_coeff * * ffield.reax C # H O N
pair_coeff * * am0c17536_si_002.txt C # H O N
print “finished: read pot.file” append out.eonlammps
fix 2 all qeq/reaxff 1 0.0 10.0 1.0e-6 reaxff
print “defined: fix settings of qeq/reaxff” append out.eonlammps

the out.eonlammps file only contained:
finished: initialize
defined: pair_style reaxff

1. If the file am0c17536_si_002.txt replaced by ffield.reax in lammps/example/reaxff, all works well.

Briefly, if running lammps/example/reaxff by lmp_serial command, all reaxff potenital files in previous papers can works well.
Unfortunnately, when running lammps C library API function lammps_file(LAMMPSObj, “in.lammps”), some reaxff potential files may not be read well.

I would like to know how to do well.

Best wishes!