[lammps-users] Lammps Featured on Podcast

Thank you very much to Steve Plimpton for taking an hour to speak with me (Brock Palen) and Jeff Squyres about lammps.

You can find the show here:
http://www.rce-cast.com/Podcast/rce-31-lammps-clasical-molecular-dynamics.html

www.rce-cast.com is an HPC podcast. Please contact me off list if there are any topics you would like to hear on the show. You can find RSS and iTunes feeds on the site.

Thanks again to the lammps community for supporting the show, and providing a great product.

Brock Palen
www.umich.edu/~brockp
Center for Advanced Computing
[email protected]...
(734)936-1985

I'm simulating tip4p in a slab configuration under an electric filed. I'm getting funny results for the dielectric constant. It just occurred to me that "kspace_modify slab" might not be implemented in the tip4p_pppm. I'm a C++ novice, so it's difficult for me to tell, but it looks as if tip4p_pppm doesn't call the slab correction from the pppm routine. Can someone verify this for me?
Thanks,
Matt

Matt:

The TIP4P routine is a derived class of the generic PPPM; so basically, the only routines that have changed from PPPM to PPPM/TIP4P are the four routines in TIP4P, none of which involve the slab correction explicitly. (The slab correction is passed into those routines through other parameters, however, so it is taken into account.)

–AEI

Hi Ahmed. Along these same lines - I tried using fix efield to double check the results I'm getting from two parallel charged plates. I don't think the fix adds the forces correctly. It seems to be adding the force as if the charge was on the tip4p oxygen. Again, I'm not up to speed with C++ so I can't really be certain this is so.
Matt

Quoting "Ahmed E. Ismail" <[email protected]...>:

Matt: