Lammps users

Hello to all,

I am doing my simulation with LAMMPS on Windows, I use the MEAM potential to describe the interaction between the Cu-Cu atoms. I apply the following command.

pair_style meam
pair_coeff * * library.meam Cu Cu Cu.meam Cu

After running the program, it displays the following error.

ERROR on proc 0: Did not find all elements in MEAM library file, missing: Cu (src/MEAM/pair_meam.cpp:457)

however, when I studied the interaction between two different types of atoms, example Cu-Co, the function runs without any errors.

pair_style meam
pair_coeff * * library.meam Cu Co CuCo.meam Cu Co

knowing that the values library.meam, Cu.meam, CuCo.meam, I have takes from the site Interatomic Potentials Repository

Thank you for your explanation of this error.

Your pair_coeff command is not consistent with the documentation of the meam pair style.
Why do you try to “extract” Cu twice?

P.S.: Please always use a meaningful subject line and assign your inquiry to a suitable sub-category.

Thank you sir
I have reread the pair_style meam course and I have placed only one atom Cu. therefore the program works well.

Also, The last remark "always use a meaningful subject line and assign your inquiry to a suitable sub-category. ", I did not understand well.

Your post uses the subject “Lammps users” that doesn’t mean anything and does say anything about what your post is about. Like with emails, you want a descriptive subject so that people can see what you are asking about and thus are more likely to read and answer to your post.