Ncount bin sensitivity

Hello,

I am new to LAMMPS, but I have generated a Couette flow and the profile is almost linear (attached), however the profile is slightly non-linear near x=0.1 and 0.9. I noticed that the number of counts (Ncount) is approximately half at x=0.1 and 0.9. Is there any reason why there should be a discrepancy at the ends of the profile? These are the lines I am using to generate the profile:

run 100000

compute cc1 flow chunk/atom bin/1d y center 0.05 units reduced
fix 8 flow ave/chunk 2 50000 1100000 cc1 vx vz norm sample file vel.profile

run 1000000

Is there any way to make the number of counts the same in all bins? Or is there another reason for the difference - e.g. bin sensitivity? (I think I have enough timesteps)

Kind regards,

Andrew

vx_vs_y.png

Hello,

I am new to LAMMPS, but I have generated a Couette flow and the profile is
almost linear (attached), however the profile is slightly non-linear near
x=0.1 and 0.9. I noticed that the number of counts (Ncount) is approximately
half at x=0.1 and 0.9. Is there any reason why there should be a discrepancy
at the ends of the profile? These are the lines I am using to generate the

my guess would be, that this is likely due to the ordering and
excluded volume near the walls. fix ave/chunk averages over points,
i.e. the position of the center of your particles. just make some
snapshots of your system and check manually.

axel.

Also, is the total count for all the bins equal

to the total # of particles you expect to be counting?

From one snapshot in a dump file, you should

be able to manually count the particles in the

first/last bin and verify what LAMMPS is counting for the same.

I.e. use fix ave/time with no averaging.

Steve

Hi Steve,