Question about tersoff pair_coeff

Hiya,

My name is Alexander Petkov and I’m a PhD student, who recently started using LAMMPS. I have a question about defining pair coefficients. There’s something I’m missing, but looking through the documentation, I can’t put my finger on what that is…
Say I’m trying to run bulk diamond. I have only 1 atom type.
I can write:
[pair_style tersoff
pair_coeff * * SiC.tersoff C] , where [* *] denotes atom pairs formed between each atomic type with each atomic type. In my case, that should be equivalent to [1 1].
However, writing:
[pair_style tersoff
pair_coeff 1 1 SiC.tersoff C]

gives: [ERROR: Incorrect args for pair coefficients (…/pair_tersoff.cpp:305)] ,which doesn’t make sense to me.
The problem is, that if I want to run a heterostructure of diamond and gallium oxide, or gallium oxide and silicon oxide, I can no longer use [**] notation as I’ll have more atomic types and it would be plain wrong. However, all my attempts to set the coefficients have ended with the aforementioned error message. Similarly, for silicon oxide:
[pair_style tersoff
pair_coeff 1* 2 SiO.tersoff Si O] gives an error (when 1 and 2 are silicon and oxygen atomic types respectively), so do [12 1*2], [1 *2] and all other desperate permutations of syntax.
I don’t understand this. I’m wondering if anyone knows what is the correct way of setting pair coefficients in this case?

I reckon it’d be fine if all relevant interatomic potentials were in one file, so that I could just use [* *]. However, I don’t know if that’s possible. There are no tersoff potentials for gallium oxide (which is a material I am mainly investigating) and conversely the potentials for diamond or silicon oxide seem to all include 3-body interaction. Would all these even be compatible to put in the same file? I doubt it, but if it were possible I wouldn’t even know where to start…

Thanks in advance. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on this.

Best,

Alexander Petkov