Running a thermal expansion simulation for FCC Aluminum

Hello,

I have never used Lammps and the KIM api before, and I wanted to get a very simple lattice parameter versus temperature curve for Aluminum using the Mendelev potential
(https://openkim.org/dev-kim-item/TE_957040092249_000-and-MO_106969701023_002-tr)

It seems like this has already been done, as the above link shows the result for the coefficient of thermal expansion, which is just the slope of the curve that I wish to plot. I wished to get some guidance about what’s the best way to tweak the thermal expansion test to get the plot I want.

I use a Mac (OS X 10.9.5) and downloaded the latest lammps and kim-api tarballs from the corresponding websites, but I am struggling to install the KIM_API, which I thought was necessary before i went along installing Lammps.

I tried ./configure in the kim-api-v1.8.2 folder, but that somehow didn’t find any compilers

checking for the GNU Compiler Suite (gcc, g++, gfortran)… no

checking for the INTEL Compiler Suite (icc, icpc, ifort)… no

unable to identify a complete compiler suite. Exiting.

Then I tried just using ‘make’ by renaming the example makefile, but it gave me an error saying:

make: *** No rule to make target `/Users/Ishan/kim-api-v1.8.2/build_system/Makefile.Generic’. Stop.

Can someone please guide me through this process?(If possible, both the installation of KIM and Lammps?) Thank you very much in advance!

Sincerely,
Ishan Tembhekar

Hello Ishan,

Thanks for your message. I'll try to walk you through the process.

Things are a bit more complicated on OS X due to the lack of a native fortran compiler and some bugs in the gfortran compiler on OS X....

First, you need to get a consistent set of compilers (c, c++, and fortran are all required) installed on you mac.

I recommend the homebrew (https://brew.sh) system. Unfortunately, homebrew has ended support for OS X 10.9.