Segmentation fault at high total number of timesteps

Hello,

I am new to LAMMPS in general, though I am facing a basic problem with the code which seems quite strange. I am using REAXFF potential user package, and when I run in parallel a script I get a segmentation fault at timesteps above 100,000. The same problem does not occur when I run in one processor.
I replicated the problem using one of LAMMPS’s default examples (with path: examples/reax/FeOH3/) with only modification the total number of timesteps from 3,000 to 3,000,000. I get a segmentation fault at ~300,000 timestep. I attach the script below for reference. I used both recent versions of LAMMPS for testing, i.e. “lammps-4Feb20” and “lammps-7Aug19”, as well as different compiling options, “make mpi” and “make intel_cpu_intelmpi” on two different machines, and with a number of processors of 4, 16 and 24. Could you please advise me on the matter?

Thank you very much,
Efstratios

REAX potential for Fe/O/H system

units real

atom_style charge

read_data data.FeOH3

pair_style reax/c NULL # lmp_control

pair_coeff * * ffield.reax.Fe_O_C_H H O Fe

neighbor 2 bin

neigh_modify every 10 delay 0 check no

fix 1 all nve

fix 2 all qeq/reax 1 0.0 10.0 1e-6 param.qeq

fix 3 all temp/berendsen 500.0 500.0 100.0

timestep 0.25

thermo 1

#dump 1 all atom 30 dump.reax.feoh

run 3000000

Have you visualized the trajectory? does it show unusual behavior? does the structure change a lot?
are there any indications in the thermo output, that things don’t work properly?
Does the segfault also happen, if you break down the single run into multiple run statements?

Axel.

Dear Axel,