simple 2D tensile test simulation FIX settings

Dear LAMMPS-users,

I am a beginner in LAMMPS and MD. My question is regarding whether NVE or NVT ensemble to use in the simulation.

I am simulating a simple 2D tensile test with atomic style, LJ pair potential and hex lattice in order to get stress-strain curve. I modified the crack example problem by adding relaxation step before straining using the following commands.

###### Relaxation ###############
fix f1 all nvt temp 0.01 0.01 .01
run 10000
unfix f1

then, the tensile straining of the model is done by fixing the bottom layer and giving the upper layer a certain velocity. This simulation settings are as follows.

###### Tensile Settings-1 ###############

fix 1 all nve
fix 2 boundary setforce 0.0 0.0 0.0 # boundary is union of upper and bottom layers
run 1000000

But, in literature, i am seeing different settings like,

###### Tensile Settings-2 ###############

fix 1 boundary nve
fix 2 boundary setforce 0.0 0.0 0.0
fix 3 mobile nvt temp 0.01 0.01 .01 # mobile is the middle region
run 100000

If i do not intend to maintain the temperature of the model, can i use the settings-1? Or is it always necessary to maintain the temperature in the tensile test as in settings-2?
Please suggest me. Your help will be very useful in my analysis. Thanks in Advance.

Regards,
Mathiazhagan S

Hi,

if you want Isothermal tensile deformation , then use NVT . Else you could try using NVE, just make sure energy is conserved (fluctuate around a value)

Oscar G.

Thanks Oscar.

During Relaxation the TotEng is converged close to -1.952.

But, during straining of the model the TotEng is increasing from -1.9364 to -1.8698. Temperature does not change significantly (~0.025) till stress reaches maximum. After the fracture initiated, the temperature increase from 0.025 to 0.065 with high rate.

I think that the total energy has to increase due to the increase in potential energy during straining. Is this acceptable?