TbFe2-Cubic

Dear Materials Project Experts,

I am a physicist and researcher interested in computational materials science, particularly magnetocaloric materials. I have been studying the material TbFe2 and noticed that in your database, there are calculations for electronic properties for the cubic structure (mp-589) but not for the hexagonal structure (mp-1102431).

Could you please explain the reasoning behind this? Is it due to the simplicity of the cubic structure, the direct band gap of cubic phases, the prevalence of cubic structures in applications, or is there another reason?

Additionally, I noticed that the INCAR file does not contain the magnetic moment. Could you please provide guidance on how I can reproduce the calculations using VASP to obtain the ferrimagnetic moment as you produced (3.58 Bohr magneton)?

I appreciate your time and look forward to your response.

Best regards, Sherif Yehia

Thank you for reaching out! Glad to hear that the Materials Project is a valuable resource in your research. I’m tagging @munrojm and @Aaron_Kaplan who might be able to comment on the availability of electronic structure calculations and the workflows for magnetic moment calculations, respectively.

Hi @sherif_Yehia:

Could you please explain the reasoning behind this? Is it due to the simplicity of the cubic structure, the direct band gap of cubic phases, the prevalence of cubic structures in applications, or is there another reason?

We have different computational workflows for computing different properties - right now, all structures, thermodynamic energies, and basic “electronic structure properties” (like on-site magnetic moments) are computed with an r2SCAN meta-GGA relaxation, while band structures are computed with the HSE hybrid functional.

The HSE workflow is many times the cost of the r2SCAN workflow, so it’s used less frequently. There’s no particular reason that we can’t put up band structures for both materials except for the computational cost