Temperature fluctuations in graphene

I am studying heat transfer in single layer graphene sheet. Equilibration is ok.
I apply two thermostats through fix temp/rescale to two groups of atoms in the sheet to establish heat transfer. I define three computes. One each for the two ends (heat source and sink) and one in the middle (somewhere in between the heat source and the sink.) While the temperature of the heat source and sinks obtained from the compute are indeed at desired thermostatted temperatures and fluctuates may be 1-2% from the thermostatted temperature, the temperature obtained from the compute in the middle group is in between the source and sink temperature (that’s fine) but with time, fluctuates highly. For example if I set the source and sink temperatures 300 and 100K then the middle compute gives temperatures varying from 210 to 280 K. That is pretty large. Similar fluctuations exist for other temperature ranges as well. I am using rebo force field (CH.Airebo file).

In my simulations, few atoms at the boundary of the sheet are fixed so that the sheet does not move around. Also I am using non periodic ‘s’ boundary condition in all directions. There are no charge interactions. I am also recording temperature profile along the heat transfer direction using fix ave/spatial at different instants of time . However, the temperature profile obtained fluctuates a lot less (within 5-10 % of average). I am wondering is there any reason why the temperature obtained from the compute in the middle is fluctuating a lot ?

My objective is to maintain different temperatures at different regions in the sheet to initiate and maintain heat transfer and record temperature at some specific regions in the sheet as a result of heat transfer. Is there a better way than how am I doing it?

Thanks and regards,

Souvik.

For starters, don't use temp/rescale. It is a bad method to manipulate kinetic energy, particularly for a system like yours. Axel.

How big is your system?