What the most accurate potential to use for the simulation of gas diffusion in PE?

Dear LAMMPS users,

I’m a new beginner using LAMMPS for molecular dynamic simulation. I am currently working on modeling the sorption and diffusion between polyethylene and methane using LAMMPS.

I obtained a polyethylene system from this source: Atomistic Deformation of Amorphous Polyethylene - EVOCD
I used the Avogadro software to generate the methane molecules.

Now, I need to model their interaction and observe how the pressurized gas penetrates through the polymer. In order to do this, I need to determine the appropriate interaction potential between the polyethylene and the gas. However, I am unsure which one to use. Perhaps someone could provide some guidance?

Thank you in advance.

Kind regards,
Bo

This is a rather challenging subject and not a good choice for a beginner.

This uses the Dreiding force field. This is a force field that is primarily optimized for representing molecular structures, but not at all for non-bonded interactions. For the specific application of deforming PE the former seems to be the interaction dominating the results, but for your subject that would not be the case. You would be better off looking for a potential that is optimized for non-bonded interactions between PE and methane or for hydrocarbons in general. OPLS sounds like a more applicable choice (which exists in both united atom (UA) and all atom (AA) representations). The choice between UA and AA may have an impact on your results, too.