A CUDA driver error 4 Due to the Failure of cuMemFreeHost

Dear developers:

I’m a new developer working on a GPU accelerator library for a new algorithm, similar to the PPPM library. I’m utilizing the geryon library located in lammps/lib/gpu/geryon for development. However, I’ve encountered some issues when using the UCL_Vector class.

Problem Description

When the program is running, the forces and energy can be correctly calculated. However, there are something wrong in the process of destructing the class I defined in the LAMMPS_AL namespace. The following error occurs:

in call at file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85.
Cuda driver error 4 in file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85.                             
Cuda driver error 4 in call at file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85.                     
Cuda driver error 4 in file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/hpclqz/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85.                             
Cuda driver error 4 in call at file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85.                     
Cuda driver error 4 in file '/dssg/home/acct-hpc/project/00_LAMMPS/lammps/lib/gpu/geryon/nvd_memory.h' in line 85. 

These errors occur because the UCL_H_Vec<devtype> _buffer is not correctly cleared when destroying the UCL_Vector . Using cuda-gdb , I discovered that the _cols variable in the private class UCL_H_Vec<devtype> _buffer is not set to 0 after correctly clearing the UCL_H_Vec<hosttype> host and UCL_D_Vec<devtype> device .

Case in My Program

I have define 4 UCL_Vector class in my class. They are:

UCL_Vector<acctyp, acctyp> pxyz;
UCL_Vector<numtyp3, numtyp3> K;
UCL_Vector<numtyp2, numtyp2> Rho;
UCL_Vector<numtyp2, numtyp2> Rho_All;  

After I call clear functions like:

pxyz.clear();
K.clear();
Rho.clear();