Apply Coordination Analysis Modifier only to certain atoms in the python script

Hello all,
I am new to using Ovito with a python script. I am trying to do a local clustering with the atomic coordinates in Ovito using the python script. I am in need of the coordination number for each cluster of atoms and not for all the atoms in the simulation box ie) each atom should have its neighbors only with its own cluster. I would like to know whether the input data to the Coordination Analysis modifier can be given in the form of a numpy array (including the cell dimensions and boundary conditions flag) or in any other type?

Thank you in advance !

Vimal

Hello Vimal,

Just to make sure I understand your question correctly: Are you asking how to perform a cluster analysis and to get the sizes (i.e. the number of particles that are part) of each individual cluster? Or are you asking about how to find atoms that are neighbors of a particular cluster?

In the first case, I would suggest to use OVITO’s Cluster Analysis Modifier https://www.ovito.org/docs/current/particles.modifiers.cluster_analysis.php, that can return a list of clusters along with their sizes, center of mass, radius of gyration etc.

Please have a look at this section of our Scripting Manual https://www.ovito.org/docs/current/python/modules/ovito_modifiers.php#ovito.modifiers.ClusterAnalysisModifier. The code example given there shows you how to import your data into OVITO and apply the Cluster Analysis Modifier to it.

Here’s a list of the current file formats OVITO can read: https://www.ovito.org/docs/current/file_formats.input.php

Let me know if that works for you.

-Constanze

Hi Constanze,

Thank you so much for your reply.