Band indexes numbering problem

When clicking on the “Interactive plots” button for the electronic bandstructure, the band indeces do not always make sense between valence and conduction. As an example, in mp-10623, the band indexes change between \Gamma-L, L-U and U-W. Is there a rationale behind it?

Hi @gmrigna,

I’m not an expert on how we generate these plots, so perhaps a colleague can correct me on this, but the short answer is the band numbering comes directly from the VASP electronic structure calculation. We don’t number the bands ourselves.

Whenever the numbering changes, this is usually because of band degeneracy at a high-symmetry point means that two lines merge into one (or one line splits into two), which then changes the numbering of all the other bands at that k-point. The bands are numbered from lowest-energy eigenvalue first, starting at index 0. Currently, in the interactive plot, only those bands closest to the Fermi level are shown, so these lowest-energy bands might not always be visible in the plot.

Hope this helps,

Matt

Hi Matt,

this is usually because of band degeneracy at a high-symmetry point means that two lines merge into one (or one line splits into two), which then changes the numbering of all the other bands at that k-point.

It is definitely not the case here. In particular, in the example that I pointed to (and there is actually many of those), the material has a gap and a given band number refers to a valence band in some direction and to a conduction band in another one. So, the situation that you describe (which I would have perfectly understood) does not correspond to what is observed here (and in many other materials).

Best regards,

Gian-Marco

Thanks for your reply, though…

Ok, thanks for reporting this – we’ll take a closer look.