Brownian Dynamics in LAMMPS

Dear Steve and other LAMMPS developers,

I am a first year PhD student, and one of my aspirations is to study polymer dynamics theoretically and computationally, and I plan to use LAMMPS for my simulations. I have worked with the software package before which proved to be very productive, and I plan to continue and use it for my future studies.

I have one general LAMMPS Brownian Dynamics enquiry and 3 specific questions related to the fix_langevin.cpp code, which together with fix_nve (the microcanonical ensemble in which particle number volume and energy are conserved) performs Brownian dynamics.

(1)

I would like to know if simulations of Brownian motion have been performed with LAMMPS such that they show the diffusion limit <x²> = Dt and fluctuations about it? I have attempted to do this with fix_nve and fix_langevin, however, when I plotted |r²| of my particle vs timestep, the behaviour was not linear as I was expecting (if needed, I can provide the script for this).

(2)

I understand that by fluctuation dissipation theorem, there exists a relation between the strength of stochastic force fluctuations and friction (hydrodynamic drag), which by equipartition can be expressed as: stochastic force intensity = 2*kBT*hydrodynamic drag.

I believe that the FDT is incorporated in the following part of the code:

for (int i = 0; i < nlocal; i++) {
if (mask[i] & groupbit) {
inertiaone = SINERTIA*radius[i]*radius[i]*rmass[i];
gamma1 = -inertiaone / t_period / ftm2v;
gamma2 = sqrt(inertiaone) * sqrt(24.0*boltz/t_period/dt/mvv2e) / ftm2v;

From documentation,