building LAMMPS with GPU support

I’m having trouble building LAMMPS with GPU support.

I have an 8-core AMD CPU together with a Pascal architecture graphics card. My card has support for OpenMP (which I already use for CPU-only programs), but not MPI, and I have no interest in installing MPI support. I have installed the NVIDIA HPC SDK, which includes the latest version of CUDA.

There are several issues with OpenMP and GPU:

• The guide by Richard Berger (Temple U) is a broken link.
  • I can enable OpenMP only via cmake with -D BUILD_OMP=yes. I did not find an equivalent option using make.
  • I tried running cmake with -D GPU_API=cuda -D GPU_ARCH=sm_60. cmake ignored those options. No lmp_gpu executable was generated.

Since I am new to LAMMPS, I don’t know what to expect, but it appears that I cannot generate a code that will utilize my GPU.

When asking question about using or installing LAMMPS please always mention the exact LAMMPS versions that you are using. In my answers below I am assuming that this is either the latest stable release (3 March 2020) or a later patch release.

I have an 8-core AMD CPU together with a Pascal architecture graphics card. My card has support for OpenMP (which I already use for CPU-only programs), but not MPI, and I have no interest in installing MPI support.