Call member funtion of a fix(not used in lammps script) class from another Fix(used in lammps script)

I have moderately edited lammps code before for changing behavior of existing fix. This time I need sort of a big overhaul. But I am still a novice and need help in achieving exactly what is mentioned in the title.

I understand that if it is a common funtion that is part of lammps’ execution flow(eg. end_of_step, post_force etc.) I can just copy that content of that function from one fix class (say FixFirst::end_of_step(){copy from here}) and paste it to the target fix I want to modify (say Fix2nd::end_of_step(){append}). Of course I will remove duplicates. Pretty straightforward. But what if,

Case 1:
the FixFirst::end_of_step(){copy from here} contains unique variable to that class FixFirst::. Since I am not calling the fix first style in lammps script, the class should not be available, if I am correct. So using those unique variables will cause error. This is where I am stuck. I could add those variable definition to the target fix class Fix2nd::. But in my case that would require too many variables to be copied. And I am not even sure how copying will mess up the code.

Case 2:
This is the particular case for me. I have some functionality in the source fix that is in a custom(say, function FixFirst::custom(){custom variable and so on}), not the ones lammps calls on its own. So it is definitely required that this class is available, so that I can call this function when needed from within my target fix Fix_2nd.cpp file. Just adding the header files won’t do I presume . Since I will only add fix 2nd style in my lammps simulation model, and not fix first.

So how to make sure that the source ‘fix’ class functions are available to call from target ‘fix’. I know this is more of a c++ problem not a lammps one, but since the community has people who are experienced with handling Lammps code, I am sincerely asking for some suggestions or hints.

Thank you,
Sabik