Capturing high-energy clusters

Hi All,

I am currently studying a system in which the following regularly occurs: I generate a structure which contains several clusters which (by chemical intuition) I would expect to be quite high energy. However, during DFT relaxation, these clusters effectively disappear (i.e. the relevant ions migrate in such a way as to remove these clusters). This means that my final fits look good in terms of CV score, but ultimately produce unphysical Monte Carlo trajectories due to the presence of these high-energy clusters which have not been captured in my training set (and are thus associated with 0 ECIs).

I would very much appreciate any suggestions as to how this issue can (in general) be overcome. I should add that I am currently modelling a single composition (which contains sufficient vacancies to allow the ion migrations mentioned above) and would ideally like to resolve this problem without widening the compositional space (otherwise I will likely require a much larger training set).

Hi @PatrickJTaylor,

Just to make sure I understand your problem: are the ECIs for these clusters zero because they never occur in your training structures and are thus “removed by regularization”? Or do you train your cluster expansion on structures as they looked before relaxation but using the relaxed energy (meaning the energy doesn’t properly reflect the energy of the training structures)?

Hi @magnusrahm - thank you for the prompt response.

Your former guess is the correct explanation, the ECIs are zero as they technically never occur in the training set.

Ok, that sounds tricky then. Some random thoughts and ideas that may or may not be helpful: