computing local densities

I am studying some extensions of L-J potentials and would like eventually to visualize time dependent density fluctuations, say, by using blue and red backgrounds to denote low and high densities in a movie.

But first I have to get the numbers. I have looked at compute chunk/atom, but none of the examples refers to density. I can also get the average density of the system, but I need the density in some specified local domain. There is pair_style local/density, which tells me that LAMMPS can compute local densities, but this is a mean-field potential, not simply the density itself.

I can generate a movie of the atoms in motion, but the density differences are subtle enough that I cannot tell visually where the higher and lower local density regions are.

Are there possible options for this?

you can use compute chunk/atom to do 3d binning and then use fix ave/chunk to determine either the number or the mass density per bin.

axel.

I’ve tried the following:

compute mychunkID all chunk/atom bin/3d x 0 1 y 0 1 z 0 1

fix ID group-ID ave/chunk Nevery Nrepeat Nfreq chunkID value1 value2 … keyword args …

fix 3 all ave/chunk 10 10 10 mychunkID density/number

…and I get an error

ERROR: Illegal fix ave/chunk command (src/fix_ave_chunk.cpp:273)

Since the message simply says it’s illegal, I don’t know how to correct it.

I’m sure the issue is simple, but I cannot find it having gone over the following pages with examples:

compute chunk/atom
fix ave/check
tutorial 8.4.2

your nevery, repeat, nfreq parameters are incorrect, hence the error about the illegal command.

how to choose those settings is documented: