Computing total tangential force for CNT filled with water

Dear All,

I am a beginner with Lammps and want to calculate a friction coefficient for a carbon nanotube (CNT) filled with water.

To do this, it needs to compute the autocorrelation of total tangential force acting along the axial direction of the CNT.

Hereby, my question is here: how is possible to compute total tangential force acting along the axial direction of CNT filled with water?

Thanks in advance

You can use the out-of-equilibrium method, i.e. impose a net flux of water in the CNT and measure the force exerted by the water on the CNT.

If you go for the equilibrium method, just extract the force exerted by the fluid on the CNT at regular interval and run a long simulation. Then you can simply do the autocorrelation using internal LAMMPS commands. However I am not sure that equilibrium procedures are a good idea for water/carbon interface… the friction coefficient may be too small, I don’t know if the result converges in a realistic time.

I would go for the out-of-equilibrium method, its an easy method to implement.

Simon

1 Like

Thanks for your reply.

In the case of equilibrium condition: Is it true to use the following command for extracting the perpendicular force excerted by the water on the CNT?

Fix wall H2O wall/region myCNT lj126 0.1132 3.27 4

No, this command is used to create a wall from a region…

1 Like

Thanks for your comments and useful suggestions.

Moreover, any comments regarding the command for calculating the perpendicular force excerted by the water on the CNT will be appreciated as well.

Hi @Nostalgic,

The force exerted on your CNT can be printed for each atoms with a dump 1 myCNT custom N dumpfilename fx fy fz and the total force can be obtained using compute group/group command. Assuming you have two groups myCNT and water (or any name) containing your atoms, this would give you the total force vector acting between the two.