Curie temperature using SPIN package

Dear all

I am a newbie. I want to calculate the Curie temperature of some simple systems i.e. iron using the LAMMPS SPIN package. I need some help in preparing the input file. What I have understood is I have to equilibrate the system at different temperatures using magnetic exchange calculated from DFT. Is it correct? Is the example for Fe given in the examples for the SPIN package good to start with?

Thanks in advance.
Best regards
Lokanath

Can you be more specific as to what kind of help you need exactly?

These are questions for @julient, the author of the SPIN package.

Hi @akohlmey

Basically, I want to calculate the magnetization at various temperatures e.g. 0 to 1500 K at an interval of 100 K. Taking the iron input file from examples, how should I modify it? Here is the input file from the examples folder.

clear
units metal
atom_style spin

dimension 3
boundary p p p

necessary for the serial algorithm (sametag)

atom_modify map array

lattice bcc 2.8665
region box block 0.0 5.0 0.0 5.0 0.0 5.0
create_box 1 box
create_atoms 1 box

setting mass, mag. moments, and interactions for bcc iron

mass 1 55.845
set group all spin 2.2 -1.0 0.0 0.0
velocity all create 100 4928459 rot yes dist gaussian

pair_style hybrid/overlay eam/alloy spin/exchange/biquadratic 3.5
pair_coeff * * eam/alloy Fe_Mishin2006.eam.alloy Fe
pair_coeff * * spin/exchange/biquadratic biquadratic 3.4 0.02726 0.2171 1.841 0.0 0.0 2.0 offset yes
neighbor 0.1 bin
neigh_modify every 10 check yes delay 20

fix 1 all precession/spin cubic 0.001 0.0005 1.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 1.0 0.0 0.0 0.0 1.0
fix_modify 1 energy yes
fix 2 all langevin/spin 0.0 0.0 21

fix 3 all nve/spin lattice moving
timestep 0.0001

compute and output options

compute out_mag all spin
compute out_pe all pe
compute out_ke all ke
compute out_temp all temp

variable magx equal c_out_mag[1]
variable magy equal c_out_mag[2]
variable magz equal c_out_mag[3]
variable magnorm equal c_out_mag[4]