ERROR: Lost atoms: original 5338 current 5337(src/thermo.cpp:439)、npt and morse

Dear Sirs

I am a beginner in LAMMPS. The LAMMPS version I am using is “LAMMPS (31 Aug 2021)”.
I tried stretching the metal-ceramic interface using LAMMPS, using eam/alloy for metal, meam potential for ceramic, and morse potential for C-Cu and Ti-Cu for the interface. But after using fix1 all npt temp 298.15 298.15 ${tdamp} y 0 0 ${pdamp} z 0 0 ${pdamp} (s p p as boundary condition, stretch in x direction), but when I modify the cutoff of morse, And when increasing neighbor to make it larger than cutoff, the error “ERROR: Lost atoms: original 5338 current 5337(src/thermo.cpp:439)” appeared.
I looked at the running process and found that the box became very large in the x-direction during the npt process, but I found that the atomic positions did not change unexpectedly. I found that when I change the cutoff of morse to 2.5, there is no error, but when I change it to 6, the above error will appear. I can’t think of where his mistake lies.

“Lost atoms” errors are an indirect indication of a problem (same as an elevated body temperature is an indication of being sick, but it is not sufficient an indication for diagnosing the cause).

From your description it looks as if you have extremely high forces for some atoms and those accelerate a lot and thus are expelled from your system. This is an indication of either a bad initial geometry or bad potential parameters or a bad overall model. This is confirmed by the fact that the reduction the morse cutoff (which will largely disable the morse potential) changes the behavior.

There is not enough information here to make a more specific assessment.

Just one more recommendation, as a LAMMPS beginner, you have chosen a very complex pair style setup. This is very easy to get wrong. It is strongly recommended to practice your MD simulation skills with some simpler systems (using just one pair style) before trying more complex systems.