"fix bond/break" or how to delete a specified bond

Dear everyone,

I believe this post is closely related to the problem I am encountering (a bit naive perhaps, sorry I am new to lammps).

Any answer/comment/advice is well appreciated. Thanks a lot.

Brief description of the problem (input and read file attached):

I want to sample the energy surface of 2 coarse grained interacting systems.

System 1 is composed of 3 atoms bonded between them (bond 1, bond 2 and angles 1).

System 2 is a single macroatom, interacting with a pair potential with the other 3 atoms in system 1.

To move system 2 around, I use a for loop over distance (no MD at the moment, in the long run I want to study transport properties).

So far everything is good.

I’d like to allow the bonded interaction in system 1 to be relaxed if the 4th atom comes too close to one of the atoms in system 1 (say < 4.5Ang from atom 2).

As suggested above, I try to define a new type (ID?) of bond, “3” in this case. The read_file.inp is modified as follow:

• 2 bonds -> 2 bonds # no change

• 2 bond types -> 3 bond types

• Bond Coeffs # +1 line
    1 200 2.0 -> 1 200 2.0

2 200 3.0 -> 2 200 3.0

#nothing -> 3 100 3.0

In the lammps.inp I would then insert:

fix bond_2_close 2 bond/break 1 2 4 4.5

fix bond_2_far 3 bond/create 1 2 4 4.5

but I cannot fix the group ID properly (already in the first line).

"ERROR: Could not find fix group ID (…)

Last command: fix bond_2_close 2 bond/break 0 2 4 4.5"

So the question is what is the group ID of the bond I am going to break and the one I would create afterwards?

Given that I am not interested in dynamics at this point, I also thought to nest a if condition on the value of the bond in the for loop over distance, but I would ultimately end up at the same point.

Thank you.

Kind regards,

Marco

lammps.inp (1.37 KB)

read_file.in (457 Bytes)

Hi Marco,

LAMMPS is probably not the right tool for sampling the energy space of a 4-atom system, without running dynamics.