How pbc_diff works

Hello. I am relatively new to pymatgen. I am trying to compare two atoms belonging to two different verisons of the same structure. The coordinates of these sites are as follows:

atom1 -> PeriodicSite: Co (17.8204, 24.9218, 54.8488) [2.9850, 3.5300, 7.4060]
atom2 -> PeriodicSite: Co (17.8204, 24.9218, 0.0000) [2.9850, 3.5300, 0.0000]

and my lattice parameters are:

abc: 5.97 7.06 7.406

I extract the site information regarding these atoms from corresponding structures like this:

atom1_fc = str_1.sites[4].frac_coords
atom2_fc = str_2.sites[1].frac_coords

I calculate the pbc_dist between these atoms:
pbc_diff(atom1_fc, atom2_fc)
and this gives:
array([0. , 0. , 0.406001])

I don’t understand why this function does not give an array of zeros. As you see the fractional coords of atom_1 indicate that the c coordinate is the lattice length in that direction. I would expect the pbc_diff of these atoms to be 0, meaning that they are located at the same point on the lattice. I visualise these atoms with VMD and indeed that’s the case.

I checked the source code of this function and it seems this function does not take the lattice params as input, therefore it really shouldn’t be able to give me an array of all zeros…

I would like to understand how this function works because it is used in is_periodic_image, which therefore gives me False…

So my question is:
how does pbc_diff() work? maybe it is different than what I am expecting it to be.

Hello Beliz,

It appears that your PeriodicSite coordinates were entered wrongly. Fractional coordinates are typically between 0 and 1. It seems like you entered Cartesian coordinates but treated them as fractional coordinates. So, 7.4060 would correspond to 7 times the unit cell in the z-direction plus another 0.4060 times the unit cell. Hence, considering PBC, the distance (in fractional coords) between the two sites is indeed 0.4060. Therefore, the function pbc_diff gives the correct answer.