How to convert a CIF file to Exciting's input.xml rapidly?

Greetings!
I am a researcher aiming to use Exciting to calculate second harmonic generation based on my experimental crystal data. However, my unit cell contains hundreds of atoms, making it difficult to write input files for Exciting manually. Are there any pre-processing codes to convert the cif format to input.xml format rapidly? I would appreciate it if anyone could offer help!
Best wishes!

Hi Ming-Yu,

Yes, you can using python.

Use Pymatgen or ASE to convert CIF to an ASE Atoms object.
Then use excitingtools to generate the exciting input.

excitingtools is included with exciting in: tools/exciting_tools (we currently recommend this over the pypi version).

As an example:

import ase
from pymatgen.io.cif import CifParser
from excitingtools import ExcitingGroundStateInput, ExcitingStructure, ExcitingInputXML

def cif_to_ase_atoms(file: str) -> ase.atoms.Atoms:
    """Convert CIF to ASE Atoms.

ASE's read_cif() is an alternative but pymatgen always handles
    CIFs from the materials project with no problems
    :param file:
    :return:
    """
    structure = CifParser(file).get_structures()[0]
    atoms = ase.atoms.Atoms(numbers=structure.atomic_numbers,
                            cell=structure.lattice.matrix,
                            scaled_positions=structure.frac_coords,
                            pbc=True)
    return atoms

title = 'add_me'
    atoms = cif_to_ase_atoms('file.cif')
    ground_state_options = {'do': 'fromscratch',
                            'rgkmax': 8.0,
                            'ngridk': [2, 2, 2],
                            'xctype': "GGA_PBE_SOL",
                            'epsengy': 1.e-6,
                            'gmaxvr': 16.0,
                            'deband': 0.001,
                            'maxscl': 30,
                            }

ground_state = ExcitingGroundStateInput(**ground_state_options)