How to do a simulation anealing to get good grain boundaries for polycrystals

Hi All, I’m a beginner for Lammps and I’m trying to use Lammps to do the simulation annealing using the polycrystal input file generated by ATOMSK. However, the result looks no good. I have attached lammps script here. For the input file, because I’m a new user I cannot attach it, if you need that I can email the file to you. Could you please help me with modifying this lammps script. Thanks a lot!

Lammps script:

Import atom information

units metal
dimension 3
boundary p p p
atom_style atomic
lattice hcp 3.21

read_data Mg_poly.lmp

--------- Force Field ---------

pair_style eam/fs
pair_coeff * * Mg_mm.eam.fs Mg

#----------- Settings -----------
compute csym all centro/atom 12
compute eng all pe/atom
compute eatoms all reduce sum c_eng

#-------------Run minimization----------
reset_timestep 0
velocity all create 30.0 12345
run 0
velocity all scale 30.0
thermo 100
thermo_style custom step pe lx ly lz press pxx pyy pzz c_eatoms
dump 1 all cfg 100 dump.relaxed_*.cfg mass type xs ys zs c_csym c_eng
min_style cg
minimize 1e-15 1e-15 5000 5000

######################################

SIMULATION DONE

print “All done”

What do you mean it “doesn’t look good”? Be more specific.

I noticed that you don’t run any MD steps, only minimization. That won’t get you the desired final result, only the first step. You need to set an integrator (e.g., fix nvt, fix npt, fix nve) and use the run command to equilibrate your system.

The grain boundaries in the output file seems to have big gaps after I have run this script. Also could you please tell me in a more detailed way about setting the integrator? Thanks a lot!