How to relax a circular nanowire with fcc lattice?

Hi Lammps Users:
I’m a freshman to MD, now I want to do some simulation about Cu nanowires. The first problem for me is how to relax a circular nanowire with fcc lattice. In my scripts, r and l represents the radius and length respectively, T represents the temperature. I’d like to construct a nanowire in two different ways.
1.The first method is that the nanowire is the whole box, like:
boundary s s p
region wire cylinder z $r $r $r 0 $l
create_box 1 wire
create_atoms 1 region wire
(1)nvt ensemble
I tried nvt relaxation, the commands is:
fix nvt_relax2 all nvt temp $T 1000 0.005 drag 0.2
fix nvt_relax4 all nvt temp 1000 $T 0.005 drag 0.2
It seems there is large tensile force or something cause the nanowire to warp. This happened with both Cu Mishin eam potential or Cu Zhou eam potential, and the range of r is from 5 lattice constants to 30 lattice constants. I don’t know why this happened and whether this nvt relaxation method is proper.
(2)npt ensemble
I also tried npt relaxation with commands ‘fix npt_relax all npt temp $T 1000 0.1 z 0 0 1’, but the value of temperature, energy and press will be ‘Nan’ when fix npt starts.
When relax at constant temperature like ‘fix npt_relax all npt temp $T $T 0.1 z 0 0 1’ , Nan appears too if T equals 0.001K.
But command ‘fix npt_relax all npt $T $T 0.1 z 0 0 1’ works if T equals 300K.
2.The second method is that the nanowire is in a bigger box, like:

boundary p p p
region whole block -50 50 -50 50 0 $l
create_box 1 whole
region rwire cylinder z $r $r $r 0 $l
create_atoms 1 region rwire
(1)nvt ensmble
The relaxation command is same to the first method, and the results are similar too. Still, warp and distortion of the nanowire’s cross section seems this is not a good way to relax nanowire.
(2)npt ensemble