In search of resources to help w. self-taught/"amateur" molecular modeling skills

Hi-
I run a study-group (made up from data-scientists, math, and physics people who are quite tech-literate) who’ve decided to learn molecular modeling techniques. The team is looking for a good introductory (and open-source) package that’d help focus our study. We’ve looked at ASE, Gromacs, Pyquante etc…and read a bunch of papers; but it’s still unclear for us - as beginners - what framework would be best to try to learn first.

To be more concrete, I’m not even sure if I understand the limits and capabilities of these various tools. At this stage of our study, just some basic shape modeling (H2O, CH4, HCl) feels like a really straightforward goal to aim for…but I can’t seem to find any tutorials on these tools that’d help us do that.

Of course i realize these are SUPER-BASIC problems compared to what the pros are doing. Just trying to find a way to learn by replicating basic prior results.

We’re fast learners, capable coders and decent enough at higher math. The team also has a fairly strong command of quantum mechanics. We just don’t have all that much computational chemistry background. Hope that doesn’t sound arrogant that we’re trying to learn it on our own outside a University, but sometimes that kind of thing is possible nowadays! :slight_smile:

Would so love to be able to learn just how to model water molecules with some Python! Would ASE be the right starting place?

best wishes,

Kevin

Hi @krowney, welcome!

I don’t think I can give a full answer to this question, but some general information for context that may be helpful: