[lammps-users] 14 positions on the cylinderical surface connected with 14 beads of a bead spring model

Dear LAMMPS developers,

I am trying to do Langevin Dynamics simulation of a chromatin model(DNA as a bead spring model + protein as a cylinder).
As a first step, I would like to choose 14 positions on the surface of the cylinder (protein) and these 14 positions are connected
to the 14 beads of the DNA bead spring model through Morse potential. I am new to LAMMPS and learning this simulation
step by step. I have attached the LAMMPS code that I am writing and its not complete at this stage. I want help to model the
above.

polymer1.lam (7.01 KB)

your input is full of commented out and contradicting commands that override each other and thus are difficult to make sense of.
also, you will be hard pressed to find somebody that takes your input and completes it for you.
that is particularly difficult without knowing the specific details of your test system.

you have much better chances to get help from the mailing list if you ask more specific questions, i.e. describe exactly where you are stuck and what you have tried to realize your model and where it failed and how.

also, you will be more likely to get help, if you “clean up” the inputs that you post from all superfluous content, commented out code and comments for your own reference.
in many cases it would be helpful to not post your original research project, but a simplified minimal example.

some more general recommendations for posting to the lammps-users mailing list are here:
https://lammps.sandia.gov/guidelines.html

axel.

Dear Axel,

Thank you for your feedback and now, I have completely removed the superfluous information.

Model : DNA bead-spring chain is wound around the protein cylinder.

Aim : Unwind the DNA from the protein

I am trying to do Langevin dynamics simulation to unwind the DNA from the protein (chromatin). For this,