[lammps-users] How to create a free surface on top and fixed at the bottom

Hello everyone,

I want to model a system with a free top surface, and fixed boundary atoms on the bottom face and with periodic boundary conditions along X and Z directions. I am new to LAMMPS, so would like to know how should Iset up this system. Should I specify the boundary command as:

boundary p s p

or

boundary p f p

Also, to use a combination of Buckingham and Coulomb interaction potentials should I use:

pair style buck/coul/long

Also, I am modeling a perovskite structure, is it possible to create this crystal structure using lattice command and if so then how? After generating the structure, is it possible to create vacancies at random sites in the system?

Thanks,

Milind

Comments below.

Steve

Hello everyone,

I want to model a system with a free top surface, and fixed boundary atoms on the bottom face and with periodic boundary conditions along X and Z directions. I am new to LAMMPS, so would like to know how should Iset up this system. Should I specify the boundary command as:

boundary p s p

or

boundary p f p

Either is fine but they are differnt. The doc page explains the difference.

Also, to use a combination of Buckingham and Coulomb interaction potentials should I use:

pair style buck/coul/long

Again, the doc page explains what it computes. You would need to use PPPM with any “long” pair
style.

Also, I am modeling a perovskite structure, is it possible to create this crystal structure using lattice command and if so then how? After generating the structure, is it possible to create vacancies at random sites in the system?

See the lattice command doc page for how create arbitrary lattices. The delete_atoms porosity command
can delete random atoms.

Thanks Steve,