[lammps-users] How to define the potential of SiO2 and graphene

Dear all,

I’m a beginner because I recently started studying lammps.
I would like to place graphene on the SiO2 substrate(α-quartz) for mitigation.
The following is my setting method, is there any mistake?
If you make a mistake, please tell me a good way.

Type 1 is C
Type 2 is O
Type 3 is Si.

pair_style hybrid airebo 3.0 tersoff lj/cut 2.5
pair_coeff * * CH.airebo C NULL NULL
pair_coeff * * SiO.tersoff NULL O Si
pair_coeff 1 2 lj/cut 0.006734 3.275
pair_coeff 1 3 lj/cut 0.008890 3.628

Thanks,

Rusty

please note that there are two kinds of “correctness” that need to be considered.

1. if you input has the correct syntax
  2. if your input represents a meaningful model

point 1) is easy to confirm from the documentation and just running it, because LAMMPS will refuse incorrect syntax. but an input with a correct syntax can still descriobe a very unphysical and meaningless model.
point 2) is much more difficult to determine, definitely not in a binary yes/no way, and even less so from remote.

your input looks correct syntactically, but that is easy to confirm for you as well. the rest is tricky. your cutoff of the lj/cut interaction looks very short for the choice of parameters (it cuts of before the minimum) and more if you used cut and paste from an input using reduced units instead of metal units.
getting a meaningful model with pair style hybrid and from mixing 3 types of potentials is particularly difficult. you cannot just treat pair styles like lego bricks assuming they are all compatible and fit together. the question of what is a correct model is something that is not really what this mailing is about and rather something you need to discuss with your adviser/supervisor/tutor and learn about from text books and published literature.

axel.

Thanks, Axel.
I want to model an AFM experiment, so I’ll experiment with your advice.