[lammps-users] Temperature becoming zero

Dear all
I am a beginner in lammps. I have been trying to do uniaxial tension test in a vertically stacked heterostructure of graphene-WS2-MoS2-graphene using KC potential for their interlayer actions (REBO II for graphene), along with SW potential for WS2, MoS2 and REBO II for graphene for intra-layer interactions. First I tried it for a small structure, size of 60×50 Angstrom, and 30 A in z direction, with r cut off value of 24 A. But the problem is, after the WS2 and MoS2 layers break, the temperature becomes zero.I used fix spring command between WS2 and MoS2 layers and it worked. But when I applied it to a bigger structure, 130×100 A, with the same z and r cut values, it’s showing the same problem. All the atoms freeze and temperature becomes zero. I’ve attached the input file, KC potential file and log file.
If anyone can please help me to identify what’s going wrong and how to solve them, I’ll be very grateful.

in.txt (42.8 KB)

ILP.KC (1.75 KB)

log.lammps (209 KB)

Dear all
I am a beginner in lammps.

it is not recommended for a beginner to start with simulations of such a complex system. it is near impossible to say whether any unexpected behavior is due to a mistake you made in the input or setup or whether it is genuine or a combination of both.

it also looks like your setup is having far too many hybrid substyles. it is my understanding that you need to apply the inter-layer potential for all atoms in a layer simultaneously instead of creating an instance of the pair style for all permutation of pairs.

again, my recommendation is for first set up a uniaxial tension simulation for a system with single atom type and compare your results against published results to make certain that part of the input is correct. then repeat this with just a simple two-layer system with the same kind of atoms and then gradually make it more complex while at each step validating/confirming that the results are meaningful.