[lammps-users] timestep for Tersoff and tranfering velocity to new date files

Dear All

I am studying the interfacial region of Si nano-particle and polymer of PE, here I have two questions as following:

1, the potential for Si part that I am using is Tersoff. When I set the timestep to be 0.01 fs, it works well, yet, when I set 0.1, the “nan” appear on the log file, meaning it is working unphysically, when 1fs is used, the program does not run anymore. Therefore, I wonder whether is there a maximum timestep for the Tersoff potential?

2, I have prepared the equilibrated polymer matrix, and I am planning to insert the silica parts into the polymer. The problems come, I used restart2data tool to get the both date files of both Si and polymers, and then combined them together, but the velocity information of both was not stored in the new data file. Is there any method that I would transfer the prior velocity info into the new data file? if can, how? The other way is to reset the velocity of the atoms under the T again, but this would take extra time to relax again, and may have a unfavorable effect on the interfacial region.

Any suggestion would be appreciated.

Yu

0.01 fmsec sounds too small. I would try to figure
out why your system is unstable with a larger timestep.
Nans typiically appear b/c your system is blowing up from
overlaps or something else unphysical.

Restart2data creates a data file from one restart file. It should
put the velocities for those atoms into that file. So if you did it
twice, where did they go in your case?

Steve

Thaks, Steve,

Yes, I checked the restart2date tool again, the velocities are indeed written into the data file, and it worked well with the new data file.

To this first question, I attached part of my input file :

#===================================================================================================initialization
units metal
dimension 3
atom_style atomic

lattice diamond 5.431
boundary p p p