[lammps-users] Using GAFF Potential for LAMMPS Simulation

Dear LAMMPS developer and users,

I’m a new beginner using LAMMPS for molecular dynamic simulation and I’m interested in applying the General Amber Force Field (GAFF) potential for my system. But I’m having trouble using it in LAMMPS. I have gone through some websites and emails in the mailing list describing this method, and I’m still getting stuck at the beginning stage so I’m writing this message to look for some help.

It seems that I need to first use AmberTools to assign atomic potential for my system. So I used the Antechamber tool and this gave me an .ac file. But when I was going to convert the file to LAMMPS input for later MD simulation, I wasn’t able to do that. I have tried using the InterMol tool but it didn’t accept the .ac file, and none of the Antechamber output formats meet the InterMol conversion requirements.

I’m not sure if I did this right and I’m wondering if someone who has the experience using GAFF potential on LAMMPS before could offer me some suggestions or examples to try it out.

Thanks in advance for your time and help!

Wenda,

unfortunately, there is very little that can be done based on the limited information and overly general description you provide and the main issue that you describe is not really a problem with LAMMPS but with the InterMol software, so you would have to contact the user support or developers for that software about your specific issue.

Axel.

Dear Dr. Kohlmeyer,

Thanks for your reply. I know currently I having issue with InterMol. From my knowledge, there are several tools like Moltemplate, InterMol, etc that has been suggested to use for GAFF with LAMMPS. But none of them works well with me. I guess I got stuck somewhere I’m not familiar. So I’m writing the email to see if anyone having the experience about using GAFF with LAMMPS that can offer me some help. Like a more approachable way to adapt GAFF in LAMMPS simulation.

Many thanks!