Lammps with Kokkos using SYCL for Intel PVC GPU

I am trying to build LAMMPS with Kokkos package to run on Intel PVC GPUs. From what I understand, I need to select the SYCL backend and I need to use Intel compilers (GNU compilers seem to lack support for SYCL). I picked the cmake build strategy because I have some experience with it. I am having difficulty getting cmake to play nicely with the intel compilers and I can’t find any relevant guidance. Has anyone here done this before? Is anyone here interested in helping me?
Richard Lawrence
Texas A&M University

Please provide more details on this.

Can you compile LAMMPS with the Intel compilers and withOUT KOKKOS?
What is your CMake command line for configuring LAMMPS?

I have not heard or seen anything. I’ve had success using Intel GPUs with OpenCL and the GPU package.

We are running LAMMPS on ALCF Aurora (Intel PVC GPUs) using the SYCL backend with Kokkos, in general it works quite well. However, I’ve only used the GNU Makefile build system to compile LAMMPS for Intel GPUs with SYCL. What errors are you getting specifically?

Howdy Alex,

I have compiled LAMMPS with intel compilers and the GPU package, but it was using make strategy (not cmake) and instructions were provided by an intel representative. I don’t know how to translate that success to building with kokkos, since I am not as familiar with the make strategy.

Cmake has trouble locating header files such as omp.h provided by the intel compilers and has trouble correctly identifying which intel compiler executable is for what purpose (icpc, icx, dpcpp). To be fair, intel is regularly renaming and relocating things so this kind of difficulty is expected.

With cmake, I am doing it like this (roughly)
cmake -DKokkos_ARCH_INTEL_PVC=yes -C ../cmake/presets/<preset> ...
where I picked the kokkos-sycl preset the oneapi preset and the basic preset

Howdy Stan,

Any chance you could share your notes with me? I wouldn’t mind trying the makefile build system.