(many)body potentials in lammps: splitting a bulk system into 1,2,3 bodies?

I am totally new to lammps, could you kindly help me with (many)body potentials?

What i want to do is as follows:

Let us suppose i have a simulation box of bulk water that i want to use for MD simulations.

I want to define all possible combinations of dimers and trimers within this box, and apply a 2-body and 3-body potential, i.e., during MD i want to calculate the potential energy of my system as a sum of contributions 1body+2body+3body, where a body is defined molecularwise (a body = 1H2O) and a body is not rigid (the structure of H2O is allowed to change during MD).

Is it possible to use BODY or MANYBODY package (or any other) for MD considering the aforementioned desired conditions, i.e.,

1.splitting a bulk system into 1,2,3 bodies.

2.calc pot ene as a sum of 1,2,3 body contributions.

3.potential that allows the structure of H2O to be changed (not rigid).

I would be grateful for your help.

Yours sincerely,

Yevhen Horbatenko

Research Professor,

Room 219, IBS CMSD,

R&D Center at Korea University,

Anam-ro 145, Seoul, Republic of Korea

Tel: + 82-10-2779-5440

E-mail: papilio.p…@gmail.com

None of the existing potentials in LAMMPS operates like this, they are all based on interactions of individual atoms. You would have to implement your model as a new potential from scratch in C++.

Since you’re dealing specifically with water, I wonder if you could decompose / rewrite your model into a combination of intramolecular forces (which are then normal bond / angle potentials) and a many-body force between the oxygens. After all oxygen is close enough to the centre of mass of water that you should be able to approximate a whole-molecule force as a force on the oxygens.

I see.
Thank you so much for your reply.

Thank you for the suggestion.
I have never thought this way.
Let me think if can do that for my model.