MD Simulation of 2D polymers. Ok with a "small" molecule, crash with a larger one. Suggestions greatly appreciated

Dear Lammps Users, I am carrying out Md simulations of 2-dimensional polymers (COFs, Covalent Organic Frameworks), making use of OPLS-AA potential.

The last molecule I am studying is composed by tris-aminophenyl units (3-branched “knots”) bonded by therephtalaldehyde molecules (2-branched “linkers”). Herebelow a picture of the repeat unit.

immagine

The resulting COF has hexagonal pores, see the picture below.

immagine

My work is aimed at evaluating the Young’s modulus of the COF sheet by “pulling” the atoms at the extremities of the sheet via fix move command, recording the potential energy vs strain and calculating the modulus as the second derivative of the energy-strain curve. All this after an adequate relaxation with the extremities of the sheet held firmly in place.
The issue I am facing is the following: the first runs were based on a relatively small sheet (28000 atoms, 14 x 14 “ring” framework). Everything went fine with run times up to 10 ns (1 fs step). Since the calculated modulus is usually affected by the size of the sheet, I tested a larger sheet (330000 atoms, 50 x 50 rings). Here the situation changed, in fact after about 5 ps the simulation crashed:

CPU STEP PE TEMP
2662.1358 5377 526388.81 333.52225
2662.715 5378 516104.48 347.81931
2663.2892 5379 569063.11 10578.276
2663.8633 5380 10957454 32074.255
2664.4444 5381 71826464 3.0714596e-108
ERROR on proc 0: Bond atoms 123472 129903 missing on proc 0 at step 5382 (src/ntopo_bond_all.cpp:60)

The program I am using to prepare the data file for Lammps is of course the same. I am really in trouble in finding the explanation of this behavior. Both Input and Data files are available to everybody who may be interested in having a look.
I am open to any suggestion on how I can proceed with the investigation.
Thanks a lot
Paolo

Hi @cantor,